Understanding the Allure of Fan Fiction

In my previous blog post, I wrote about fan fiction and what it is by interviewing two fan fiction writers, Moviebuffgirl and Ingenious Macabre. I thought that I would be able to compress all the information that I have gathered in just one post, but when I finished my draft, I was surprised to see that it went over 2000 words! Obviously, there’s so much to write about it, and instead of doing it all in one go, I decided to do a series of posts about fan fiction instead.

As a writer, I tend to focus on original works because I’m drawn to the idea that I’m able to create a world that ticks at my bidding. Since fan fiction is deeply rooted on an existing body of work, it is different from what I am used to, so I wanted to figure out why it attracts other writers. According to my sources, fan fiction gives them satisfaction, ease in writing, and a sense of community.

Fan fiction is mostly created by fans, and as fans, they want more out of it. “Sometimes, when we get engrossed in a particular world, the end comes as such a downer, and we, as the fandom, want more. Fanfiction gives that,” said Ingenious Macabre. Moviebuffgirl further explained that sometimes, the ending is just not enough. As an example, she mentioned that she was not satisfied with how Phantom of the Opera ended, so she created an ending for Erik and Christine where they got together and had kids. Ingenious Macabre metaphorically treats those as “bonus scenes” or “DVD extras” of movies. With that kind of explanation, I felt that I could relate to them more because that’s exactly how I felt when I bought the director’s cut of The Lord of the Rings trilogy; I wanted more from the story despite its already lengthy edited version.

In terms of writing, they both say that it makes story writing so much easier. According to Ingenious Macabre, “Writing original fiction is difficult (this is an understatement), but fanfiction makes it easier, because then, you wouldn’t have to worry about the characters anymore. They’re already fleshed out in the minds of your readers, and you just have to fill the little gaps in between.” Those little gaps offer a “sense of freedom” that “gives you [fan fiction writers] the chance to fill in the blanks, so to speak,” added Moviebuffgirl. This particular point is relatively easy for me to relate to since I know how much goes into creating original characters; if the character creation stage – not counting how their personalities develop inside the story – could be skipped, yes, I’d also say that it’s definitely easier to write fan fiction.

Finally, it sounds like fan fiction writers feel a sense of belongingness since they have their community — also known as their fandom — online. One such example of this community is Fanfiction.net, where both Moviebuffgirl and Ingenious Macabre publish their stories. Ingenious Macabre also said, “There is a lot of positive energy generated by people who are into the same fandom that you are, and it’s a community of sorts.” Looking at one comment for Ingenious Macabre’s story, “Endings,” a person by the username piratesmiley said, “THIS IS THE GREATEST STORY. I am so ridiculously intrigued. Please please please update soon!” That’s pure, unadulterated acceptance and approval, and who wouldn’t want that, right?

With those reasons, I’m now able to understand why fan fiction draws people in. It satisfies the fans’ wishes for additional content, which they themselves can control by penning what ever they want. It offers ease in writing, and it also fosters a sense of community. Who wouldn’t want that? I sure would like all of that, and the only question is how to do it. Of course, I’ve asked about that question during the interview so I’ll be posting Moviebuffgirl’s and Ingenious Macabre’s answers in the next post. Please stay tuned!


About My Sources

Moviebuffgirl

is a 23-year old movie fanatic who has spent most of her life in front of the typewriter (and now, the computer) churning out stories by the dozen. She likes nothing better than watching a good movie, listening to music, and playing with her dogs. Now, her attention is spent on creating interesting fan fiction and improving her writing craft, writing stories based on Charmed, Underworld, Twilight, Phantom of the Opera, 300, Dawn of the Dead, Land of the Dead, Resident Evil series, Walking Dead, Tudors, Left 4 Dead, Thor, Avengers, and Borgias. To check out Moviebuff girl’s stories out, click this link.

Ingenious Macabre

says that she doesn’t write as many fan fics as much as she reads them. She’s not afraid to share the love by victimizing others with her incessant fangirling. She currently has two stories for based on the fandoms for Pitch Perfect, and she is part of the Sherlock (BBC), Doctor Who, Marvel Cinematic Universe, Suits, The Vampire Diaries, Once Upon a Time, and Cover Affairs fandoms. You could read Ingenious Macabre’s stories by clicking on this link.

One thought on “Understanding the Allure of Fan Fiction

  1. Pingback: Shedding Light on Fan Fiction | Kraken's Ink

Leave a Reply

